Author Topic: About read shaders from BSP quake3  (Read 548 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jepalza

  • Friends
  • Gentleman (Lady)
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Reputation 5
  • 3D Crazy
About read shaders from BSP quake3
« on: October 21, 2015, 05:19:22 PM »
Hello, Alec:
I'm reading this post --> http://worldsim3d.com/Forum/index.php?topic=4.msg1831#msg1831 with google traslate, because this problem was mine in my BSP_Loader.

In My proyect, did read full of elements, but nothing for shaders. Shaders is read by "wgetmesh" command automatically, but nothing is showed on screen.

BSP wgetmesh command,  look first for JPG extension, then TGA extension, if nothing of this exists in directory, then goes for "media/script/sfx.shader" (is part of quake 3 arena, into PK0.PK3), "wgetmesh" read this file (sfx.shader), but nothing more is done, no shader or textures from shader are loaded, and this texture is empty, with a big hole.

Example: in CASTLE.PK3 (castle.bsp map), shader for pentagram named "textures/sfx/largerblock3b3x128_pentred" is looking into directory. If texture exists (on this dir --> textures/sfx/largerblock3b3x128_pentred.JPG" (note for extension), wgetmesh read it, and put on screen: example WITH and WITOUHT texture "largerblock3b3x128_pentred.JPG"

WITH "invented" texture "textures/sfx/largerblock3b3x128_pentred.JPG"


WITHOUT "invented" texture, BUT WITH original file "sfx.shader":


The big problem, is for original IRRLICHT 1.8, that not read Shaders contents, only read file from "script/sfx", but not textures into. Maybe, IRRLICHT 1.8.3 be able to load full shaders information, and then, we have full Quake 3 BSP loader maps. :-\

Is very difficult to explain this in english for me, sorry.

--------------------------

EDIT:
did probe the new IRRLICHT 1.8.3 with example "21.Quake3Explorer.exe", and it read shaders good, from file "sfx.shaders".
it's possible to use IRRLICHT 1.8.3 into WorldSim3D?  :P

This screen is from QuakeExplorer IRRLICHT 1.8.3
« Last Edit: October 21, 2015, 05:43:02 PM by jepalza »

Offline Alec - WS3D Developer

  • Producer
  • Administrator
  • Viscount
  • *
  • Posts: 796
  • Reputation 30
  • Game making is my hobby for life!
Re: About read shaders from BSP quake3
« Reply #1 on: October 21, 2015, 05:59:00 PM »
Hello, jepalza!
I think, nikolas wil give you a better answer, because it was he who dealt with the matter (I PM-ed him).
WorldSim3D = 3D + FreeBasic. Программируй в удовольствие, а не "в тягость"! Make your project with pleasure, not with strain!

Offline jepalza

  • Friends
  • Gentleman (Lady)
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Reputation 5
  • 3D Crazy
Re: About read shaders from BSP quake3
« Reply #2 on: October 21, 2015, 06:02:50 PM »
Ok, waiting for it.  :D

Did read Irrlicht 1.8.3 manual, and the command for read shaders from BSP quake 3 map style is "addQuake3SceneNode".
Is a good idea include it in the next version of wordsim3d

Offline Nikolas - WS3D Developer

  • Programmer
  • Global Moderator
  • Viscount
  • *
  • Posts: 642
  • Reputation 45
Re: About read shaders from BSP quake3
« Reply #3 on: October 21, 2015, 08:27:23 PM »
Hi, Jepalza!
Currently in version 0.9.5 there is no support for Quake shaders.
We have successfully implemented support for Quake shaders in WorldSim3D until the testing phase.
Very soon we will release version 0.9.6, where there will be full support for shaders (like Irrlicht).
In addition, we introduce many features that will allow you to read the BSP-map for entities. A very useful addition.
Here is a screen capture showing Q3-shaders in WorldSim3D!

PS:Full support for BSP maps with shaders and there is a version in Irrlicht 1.7.3 and in the older earlier versions.
« Last Edit: October 21, 2015, 08:48:22 PM by nikolas »
Под лежачий камень мы всегда успеем...

Offline jepalza

  • Friends
  • Gentleman (Lady)
  • *
  • Posts: 42
  • Reputation 5
  • 3D Crazy
Re: About read shaders from BSP quake3
« Reply #4 on: October 21, 2015, 10:36:08 PM »
 :'( :'( :'(

Ok, waiting for the new release!!!  :P

(in other examples, did read shaders "by hand", but it's very dirty code, and slow)